Administrative Staff


Cynthia Smith McCollum
Executive Director

"I care deeply about high-quality, accessible education for all children. As a parent, we sought out Open Door for our children based on its inclusive model and incredible reputation. Because of the wonderful care they received and the supportive community our family found here, I am so excited to be part of ensuring that Open Door continues to serve Austin in such a special way."

Please join Executive Director Cynthia Smith McCollum, community members, parents, and Open Door staff at the 2019 Fall Fête as we honor retired Executive Director Lary Elsner with a Lifetime Achievement Award for his dedication and commitment to Open Door Preschools.


Missy Sanchez
Site Director, Open Door Central

"I believe that every child should have an opportunity to learn and grow in an emotionally supportive environment that values and fosters their natural curiosity. It is a child’s innate curiosity that makes them our world’s greatest explorers. It is our job, our responsibility, as early childhood educators, to provide each child in our care with a road map that will set them up for success as they pursue their future educational journeys."


Sheila Matthews
Site Director, Open Door East,

"Every child is special, unique, and deserves a chance to attend a quality, safe, and loving educational environment."


Serena Hill
Site Director Open Door at M Station,

“Children are impressionable during their formative years of growth and development. Providing safe and happy spaces to nurture and foster self-worth, respect, and acceptance for all is the Open Door Way. Children need safe, nurturing, and accessible environments in order to be their most creative, spirited, and playful selves. Our hearts and doors are open for children and families to come and explore.”


Board of Directors

Cathy McHorse
United Way for Greater Austin

Ryan Meltzer
Norton Rose Fulbright

Leah Meunier, PhD
WorkForce Solutions-Capital Area

Josh Romero
Jackson Walker, LLP

Cherelle VanBrakle*, MEd
People's Community Clinic

Anacely Vazquez-Carrillo
University of Texas at Austin

Staci Woodburn-Henry*

Brian Childs
McCombs School Board Fellow
University of Texas at Austin

Ashish Soni
McCombs School Board Fellow
University of Texas at Austin

*Current Open Door parent

Meghan Alexander*, Chair
Alexander Law Firm

Laura Griebel, MPA, Vice Chair
Easter Seals Capital Area

Cherisse Robison, MPA, Treasurer
Children’s Advocacy Centers of Texas

Glenn Goodrich*, Secretary
OneStar Foundation

Krista Anderson-Hill
Community Volunteer

Deborah Cannon

Neal Cazel
Public Consulting Group

Tony Clark, Past Chair
General Motors

Laura Hernandez Gold, LCSW-S
Integral Care

John McGlothlin, PhD
Southwest Retirement Consultants